The Ganges

The Ganges River Cruises

The mighty river Ganges, also known as Ganga in Sanskrit, represents grace and timeless existence. For centuries, travellers explored different parts of the country through the Ganges. Life on the river Ganges is important to many people in India. It provides a lifeline to millions of natives who live on the banks and close by, as well as a spiritual site to many Hindus. Ganges river cruises take you into the heart of the country, they allow you to experience India in a more intimate way. Explore riverbank villages, ride on rickshaws, and see the awe-inspiring terracotta temples. If wildlife is your thing, you may even be lucky enough to spot some Gangetic dolphins playing in the water beside you as you dine on deck.

The Ganges River is over 2,500km long and flows through India and Bangladesh. It begins its journey in the western Himalayas in the Indian state of Uttarakhand and makes its way south and east through the Gangetic Plain of India and Bangladesh, before finally draining into the Bay of Bengal. Many tourists come to India to experience the rich culture, they immerse themselves in the hustle and bustle, the sights and smells, but not all of them see life from the river. Discover new cultures, new experiences and new destinations while you sail on the Ganges.

The Historic Hooghly Itinerary

The Historic Hooghly Upstream Itinerary

Kolkata - Barrackpore - Chandernagore - Kalna - Matiari - Murshidabad - Baranagar - Malda - Farakka

East India

The Historic Hooghly Downstream Itinerary

Kolkata - Farakka - Malda - Baranagar - Murshidabad - Matiari - Kalna - Kolkatta

East India

The Holy Ganges
Upstream Itinerary

Kolkata – Farakka - Rajmahal - Beteshwar – Vikramshila – Kehilgaon - Bhagalpur – Sultanganj - Monghyr - Barh - Nalanda - Patna

East India

The Holy Ganges Downstream Itinerary

Patna - Barh - Nalanda - Monghyr – Sultanganj - Bhagalpur – Beteshwar – Vikramshila - Rajmahal - Farakka - Kolkata

East India